Discover WatertownHow Do I

Go To Search
Click to Home

About the WPD
 WPD Building
    The City of Watertown is a diverse community of nearly 22,000 people residing in the center of some of the best hunting, fishing, and recreational opportunities in South Dakota. Watertown lies between two large lakes and has a strong industrial base to support its economy. Watertown is the trade center for some 50,000 people in northeast South Dakota. Watertown’s numerous parks and outstanding public education system make for a great place to live, work, visit, and raise a family. Watertown is home to Lake Area Technical Institute and Mount Marty College.
    The Watertown Police Department is a 24-hour law enforcement agency, handling 27,000 calls for service each year. The WPD is a progressive agency that is committed to providing high-quality, open and community oriented police services. The department strives to educate its employees and offers advanced training and educational incentives to all personnel.  
    The WPD consists of 36 sworn police officers and 19 non-sworn employees. The WPD has a Police Chief, an Assistant Police Chief, 3 Captains, 5 Sergeants, and 26 Patrol Officers.  Some of the Patrol Officers serve in additional assignments such as Corporal (4), Detective (4), Training Officer (3), and School Resource Officer (2).
    The WPD is structured in such a way that it divided into four main components, Operations, Support Services, Professional Standards, and Special Operations.  Sub-units support each of those four main components.

 Operations Bureau

Support Services


Professional Standards


Special Operations

 Patrol Division

 911 Center




 K9 Program

 Investigative Division

 Records Unit


 Policies & Procedures


 School Resource Officers

Reserve Officer Program

 Vehicle & Facility Maint.


 Citizens' Police Academy


 Youth Programs



Commendations & Complaints

 Teen Police Academy





Intern Program







 Honor Guard

             Crime Prevention
             Explorer Program